Abc Logo Square

Building Triumph: Revealing the Winners of Central VA 2023 In-House Craft Competition

Linkedin Instagram Facebook Twitter Email (1)

Building Triumph: Revealing the Winners of Central VA 2023 In-House Craft Competition

Nov 29, 2023 | Apprenticeship, News

The atmosphere was electric, the pipes were humming and the air was buzzing with HVAC brilliance as we hosted our highly anticipated 2023 In-House Craft Competition for ABC-VA’s Central Virginia region. On November 17, nine apprentices across three disciplines came together to put their skills to the ultimate test and compete for a spot in the National Craft Competition (NCC) in Kissimmee, FL, in March 2024.

Each apprentice demonstrated unparalleled skill, dedication and a passion for their craft. Their achievements not only reflect personal excellence but also elevate the standards of our industry. Congratulations to all winners and competitors. First place in each trade will compete in the 2024 NCC.

⚡ Electrical2023 In House Craft Comp Sponsors Small
1st Place – Jhonatan Silva, Electriforce
2nd Place – Mitchell Becraft, ColonialWebb

💦 Plumbing
1st Place – Thomas Carter, Remco
2nd Place – Maurice Clanton, ColonialWebb
3rd Place – Jason Hyer, Atlantic Constructors, Inc.

1st Place – Gabriel Pena, Howell’s Heating and Air
2nd Place – Tyler Clarke, Atlantic Constructors, Inc.
3rd Place – Curtis Tinsley, Howell’s Heating and Air

A heartfelt thank you to all participants, judges and sponsors who contributed to the success of this event. Sponsors included Atlantic Constructors, Inc., Remco, Electriforce, ColonialWebb, Milwaukee, Torque Supply, White Cap and Synergy Technical Services. Your commitment to craftsmanship and innovation fuels the spirit of our industry.

As we celebrate these victories, we also look forward to the continued growth and success of our construction community. Congratulations to all the winners, and may your dedication inspire future generations!


01. All CV 2023 Competitors Cropped

L to R: Thomas Carter (1st, Plumbing); Jhonatan Silva (1st, Electrical); Mitchell Becraft (2nd, Electrical); Jason Hyer (3rd, Plumbing); Maurice Clanton (2nd, Plumbing); Curtis Tinsley (3rd, HVAC); Gabriel Pena (1st, HVAC); Alexis Pack; Tyler Clarke (2nd, HVAC)